SHORTBREAD COOKIES (TRADITIONAL WAY)

Shortbread Cookies

This recipe is adapted by CANADA Corn Starch via Joyful Jollies cooking blog. I have eaten  a lot of shortbread cookies but this is the best recipe of shortbread I’ve ever made and tasted. It is so easy to handle with only 4 ingredients and couples of kitchen tools

Shortbread recipe from Canada corn starch
[….] 1/2 cup Canada corn starch
1/2 cup icing sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup butter, softened [….]

I use fork to gently press down on top of the dough for making simple design

I use fork to gently press down on top of the dough for making simple design

The cookies come out so fine, smell so good, taste a bit like (edible) sand when eating right away but it becomes even better on the next day. I don’t usually bake so much compare with cooking foods, but after researching the BEST shortbread recipes on the Internet – some recipes don’t need corn starch, other ones need many more ingredients….but come down to it….Grandma’s foods are what I am looking for because it always taste good, so I decide to give it a try.

The first batch of shortbread cookies come out so nice.

The first batch of shortbread cookies come out so nice.

After I mix all ingredients together, I put the dough into a large plastic wrap to make a roll then store in a fridge for about 30 minutes. Meanwhile I pre-heat the oven at 375 degree. I don’t have to spend too much time on rolling the dough out or use cookie cutters to make shapes. I just have to open the plastic wrap, use sharp knife to cut the roll into smaller round shape, place on cookie tray and make some simple design with fork. Here is the result:

Shortbread cookies

You may realize some cookies are gone because I eat them during taking pictures 🙂

Now is your turn to give it a try to this recipe, guarantee you will be successful right at the first time of trying.

Happy Cooking! Happy Blogging!

5 thoughts on “SHORTBREAD COOKIES (TRADITIONAL WAY)

    • I also was surprise when seeing the shortbread recipe at the back of the cornstarch box…but the cookies were simply good. Hope you give it a try and fall in love with it as I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

